Skip to content

Teeth: Ready or Not, Here They Come

October 5, 2010
tags:

It’s my first post on this blog and I’m gonna circumvent my urge to make some grand declarations about myself, this project, or how amazing, genius, and unique my 4 month old son is. Well, mostly circumvent it. For more about me though, see “About Yeye.”

So, as I said my son is about 4 months old now and starting to teethe and my nipples tremble in fear of him biting me when those first teeth actually surface. Today, I noticed him eying the apple I was eating and wickedly decided to taunt him with it. Little did I know, he was ready to pounce. When it got close enough, he pulled the half eaten fruit to his mouth and started gnashing his gums on it. He loved the taste and that he could chew on it as I partially panicked that I was sabotaging his breastfeeding or something.

It was just new mother jitters, he started nursing 10 minutes later with no hesitation.

Store-bought teether

Courtesy: Aldf

The Humble Carrot

Courtesy: Nick Wheeler

Now , I’m looking for natural and uncomplicated ways to help ease his irritation and later, pain.

Do I buy the freezable teethers with different textures?

Do I give him a carrot? Ice in a cloth diaper?

What has worked for you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 1:37 am

    This is my first time at your blog! I’m so exciting! Nya is teething now, too! Cold wash cloths have been working best for us. Sometimes, in addition to the cold wash cloths, I’ll put ice in her mesh feeders for her to suck on. Toy teethers are okay but she loses interest in them so quickly. Thankfully, with these measures I have not had to rely on any pain relievers. I wish you all the luck! Let me know if you have any questions!

    -Jessica

    • October 6, 2010 2:33 am

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Jessica. I’m gonna try the cold cloth tomorrow. I don’t think his teeth will surface any time soon, but what do I know?

  2. October 6, 2010 1:37 am

    Meant to say “I’m so excited.” I’m not really exciting. hahaha.
    -Jessica

    • October 6, 2010 2:34 am

      I’m sure Nya thinks you’re very exciting. Isn’t it amazing how much enjoyment they find in watching you?

  3. Queen T permalink
    October 9, 2010 3:17 pm

    This made me smile! When my Godson, Grant began teething we used cold wash cloths and the mesh teethers. They helped a lot We even found some mesh teethers that we could put chilled fruit in that he liked a lot. Eventually his mom began using a pain reliever because his gums got very swollen and painful, but in the beginning the other stuff worked for us just fine without any other interventions.

    • October 9, 2010 8:06 pm

      If it’s not too sensitive to ask, did mom breastfeed exclusively? I’m hearing from mothers that breastfed exclusively that their children didn’t have ear infections, fevers, etc. when teething.

  4. October 12, 2010 2:46 am

    We also used cold cloths and mesh feeders with ice. We occasionally gave pain relievers if she had a particularly stubborn tooth, but mostly those were the molars. I breastfed exclusively for the first 6 months (until my body decided to quit!) and then had to use formula. We never had problems with ear infections or fevers with teething. I think it’s a great idea to ask friends, try a couple of the ideas and you will quickly find what works for your baby. Good luck getting through this stage!

    I’m visiting from Dory Tribe on SITS. Welcome to the group! =]

  5. October 12, 2010 11:21 am

    Hello there – visiting from the Dory tribe! My son is 2 and a half months right now…and like you, the thought of teeth while he nurses is just scary! I don’t think that I’ll actually have to deal with it, as he’s showing signs of weaning himself at the moment, but it’s been something that I’ve worried about.

    Glad to know that I’m not the only one…I agree with Nikkolish on this one – each child goes through teething differently and you’ll just have to try several things and see what your son prefers or what works best for him. My daughter (she’s 8 now) didn’t like thr frozen teething rings…she liked them chilled in the fridge, but not from the freezer. She also preferred to chew on her bibs. So who knows what this one will like? But I’ve got at least one of everything so that he’s got some options!

  6. October 26, 2010 4:13 pm

    Peace, Sis.

    With KL, it was something different every day. lol A cold baby wash cloth rolled up worked sometimes. Sometimes I rubbed his gums with a cold finger. Fortunately, he didn’t have a whole lot of discomfort during teething….phase didn’t

    And gurl, I feel you on the fruit thing! KL was 2 weeks old and was smacking his lips while I was eating an orange. 🙂

    As for the juice….I waited until KL was 2 before I gave him any. He ate lots of fresh fruits and veggies, so he got his juice that way.

    • October 31, 2010 7:01 pm

      It looks like that’s where we’re headed…although I have given SJ juices. We had a juicing party and I let him taste kale juice and apple juice. He loved both. I’ve also found that he likes gnashing in beets and carrots. Have to watch out for the beets though, because the slob will stain!

      I got him a silicone teether with 6 different textures, which he likes sometimes. Other times, I rub his gums with a finger and let gnash my finger.

Leave a Reply

