Skip to content

Autumn Brings Sweetness

October 6, 2010

As we try to add eating locally and seasonally to our lifestyle, I’m always looking for new flavorful recipes. Of course, the more convenient the better. Well, I stumbled upon one to remember last night to make use of a beautiful butternut squash from our CSA: Butternut Squash Bread, which I veganized and modified for what I had available.  (I hate having to buy a whole bunch of new ingredients to try a recipe, unless it’s a special project)

What & How:
1) Preheat oven to 350

2) Mix the wet…
1 c roasted, smashed or puréed butternut squash (baked it for 45 min prior) +
1/2 c sugar of your choice (I used demerara) +
3 tsp egg replacer & 4 tbsp water +
1/4 c water +
1/2 c light oil, Iike peanut or vegetable (I had corn)

3) Whisk the dry…
1 3/4 c whole wheat all-purpose flour +
1 tsp baking soda +
1/2 tsp sea salt +
2tsp cinnamon +
1/2 tsp nutmeg +
1/2 tsp cardamom +
Nuts, if you’d like

4) Stir the dry into the wet

5) Butter bread pan + fill with bread batter.

6) Bake for 55-65 minutes (do fork test to confirm).

I’m not sure if nut milk would have made a difference. Part of the reason I used this recipe was that I was too lazy to make any and this doesn’t require it. It comes out fluffy and moist anyway. Because pine nuts were the only kind I had on hand, I sprinkled some on top before baking. Turns out my husband says he doesn’t like pine nuts…it hasn’t stopped him from devouring the bread though.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 2:23 am

    Funny enough, I only like to cook and bake during this time of year. It could very well be that our family slows down long enough to eat more meals together which allows me to enjoy standing in the kitchen. Whatever the reason, I like your recipe and it has inspired me to try something new.

    • October 13, 2010 9:51 pm

      D, this is definitely my favorite food season, too. I love root vegetables and bean soups. I really love them all yer round, but fall and winter give me an excuse. The bread is yummy, even without the spices. I’ve made it a couple of times and replaced the oil with coconut oil once. Also, if you use eggs, you’d use 2 instead of the egg replacer.

  2. Sweet Strength permalink
    October 26, 2010 5:16 pm

    Peace Sis,

    Thought you might enjoy my friend Nes’ blog: http://healthandwellnes.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/greens-for-sasha/

Leave a Reply

