Skip to content

Let’s Talk: Stomach Sleeping

October 26, 2010

“Back is best,” says the sleepsack my son recently outgrew.  For two weeks, I wondered why such a cryptic message was stitched to his wearable blanket set.  I thought, perhaps it’s ‘defective’.  Maybe, it was made in some outsourced factory where the person programming the monogram machine has some English language limitations.  I literally laughed

Back Sleeping Baby
This is not my child, but his lil fro is too cute for words.

out loud when I finally realized it was a message reminding parents that babies should sleep on their backs.

I’m sure we were alone in this, but we were terrified of SIDS happening for the first 2 months.  And regardless of the fact that it happens to so few

Stomach Sleeping Baby Photo

Tummysleeping: What do you think?

families, it’s enigmatic existence can hover over new parents during sleeptime like a stormy sky.  So, we always put him down on his back…until we noticed that he got more sleep (read: was less cranky when awake) when he lay chest to chest with us on his belly.  Uh-oh!  That got me to searching these interwebs for more research and anecdotes from parents whose children didn’t perish in their sleep from tummysleep.

I learned that:

  • Regardless of sleep position, the risk of a SIDS is very low.
  • When it does, it happens to back sleepers, too.
  • Most tummysleepers don’t succumb to SIDS.
  • SIDS is probably the result of simultaneous co-factors; a perfect storm.

How did you decide whether or not…or, how often to allow your baby to sleep on her/his tummy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sweet Strength permalink
    October 26, 2010 4:59 pm

    Peace, Sis.

    My grandmother always put me to sleep on my tummy. As my mother tells it, parents in the 80’s were instructed to do so. lol KL always seemed to prefer his back (still does), so that’s how we rolled.

    • October 31, 2010 7:03 pm

      SJ almost always sleeps better on his stomach than back. But, now that he knows he can turn over at will, it’s the last thing he does before sleep and the first thing he does when he wakes. Lol

  2. Simcha permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:07 pm

    I think you should let your baby whichever way is most comfortable for the baby and you. Of course u must monitor but many rarely stay in the initial position.

  3. October 27, 2010 5:59 am

    My first hated her tummy, so she never slept on it. My second though- she’s been sleeping on her tummy since she was two weeks old.

    I made the mistake of telling my pediatrician who looked at me and said, “What on earth would possess you to do that?” Whoops!

    I have to admit that putting my newborn on her tummy did make me quite nervous. I ended up purchasing an infant movement monitor to calm my nerves about the whole thing. Finally, with the combination of tummy sleeping and the monitor everyone was getting some much needed sleep.

  4. October 31, 2010 5:12 am

    You know: I was terrified to put my first baby on her stomach. But, I realize that I listen to the doctors less and less with each baby. So, I find myself putting the babies on their stomach more and more primarily because they sleep better that way. Also, because they sleep in the bed with me for the first year, so I pretty much am nursing and “watching” them in the night.

Leave a Reply

